Dear Scott,

Dear Scott,

It has come to my attention that some things I post on Facebook displease you, or are rather, ‘plainly offensive’. (I’m okay to quote, I assume? Well, who cares I’ll just join the brigade of women who, you believe, are feminist man haters.)

For all those new to this debate, I’ll provide some context. This morning, whilst enjoying a coffee in Costa before my eye test (apparently I need glasses – the joy) I read an article in the Guardian, my paper of choice. This article was entitled ‘Why We Hate Selfies So Much’ and was placed in the ‘comment’ section of the paper, which if you have even the slightest presence of brain cells indicates something to you. If you don’t acquire these cells, then I’ll elaborate. Comment generally means it’s going to swing very heavily in one direction. It will be articulated strongly and precisely as it is based on someone’s own personal opinion and, what have we learned? People take that very seriously.Now, in brief, the article basically argues that the selfie is actually a form of self-portrait that should be considered art but isn’t due to the fact it serves a mass audience and, here’s the controversial bit, is usually exploited by women.

(Full article here: http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/feb/05/selfies-sexism-women)

So this is apparently, ‘just another feminist article written by some man hater’ which is a ‘tiresome waste of time’ and the author ‘needs to get a serious grip.’ This is where the problems begin.

I’ve studied Feminism for quite a while, not just because as a woman it’s important to me but also because I studied sociology, so I’m not just spewing utter nonsense when I retaliate. My definition of a Feminist is someone who believes that the sexes should be equal. Equal in terms of domestic labour, equal in terms of childcare, equal in terms of job opportunities and equal in terms of pay etc. But, in case there’s any confusion we’ll consult the trusty Oxford English Dictionary:

Feminism

Definition of feminism in English:

NOUN

THE ADVOCACY OF WOMEN’S RIGHTS ON THE GROUND OF THE EQUALITY OF THE SEXES.

Oh, no man hating involved there. Just to make sure the OED isn’t spinning us all a yarn, I’ll double-check with somewhere else:

Feminism is a collection of movements and ideologies that share a common stated aim: to define, establish, and defend equal political, economic, cultural, and social rights for women. This includes seeking to establish equal opportunities for women in education and employment.

Now I know we’re all concerned, so I have emailed Wikipedia just to make sure they were right when they didn’t include the term ‘man hating’ and for now, we’ll just have to sit back and wait on that one.

At this point, you’re going to have to excuse me, because I’ve struggled with your grammar slightly. You’ve quoted the article, fair play, I can’t deny that you’ve approached this argument properly. As to it being ‘barmy’ and ‘trying to tar blokes’ I think you’ve missed the point. Feminist’s aren’t targeting men, I don’t sit around claiming all men are bastards on a regular basis because you know, most of you are better than alright. The argument in the article addresses a set of societal values that have existed for a very, very long time (even before the 1930s) and it is about addressing this outlook held by many, not just men, and changing it.

I’m going to skip the next bit because honestly, I think you’re being sarcastic but I couldn’t be sure.

‘The idiot who wrote this article has gone from arguing selfies are an art form to slagging men off.’ You’ve definitely made this up. Please, provide evidence of men being slagged off. Oh, and calling someone an ‘idiot’- not intelligent, just offensive and again, incorrect. Considering the article and where it’s published clearly proves author is not an idiot, rather probably extremely well-educated.

And yes, your profile picture is a selfie and no, you’re not an oppressed woman. And do you know what? Neither am I. I have lots of opportunities, I’m at a good university and have several platforms to voice my opinion, this being one of them. However, there are still many concerns about the treatment of women in society – Rape culture, maternity leave, everyday sexism, just to name a few, and that is exactly why articles like this must exist. Even if you don’t agree with it, the fact it has been written is vastly important in attempting to change the position of women in a society that has, quite frankly taken more than a few steps backwards in recent years.

Feminists aren’t man haters, if anything we just wish we could be as worthy as society deems you.

(Oh and to avoid confusion, that was sarcasm by the way.)

IMG_5461

#SelfieForScott

 

Leave a Reply

